Headstart student winners 2016 announced

Fifteen students at Career Ready schools and colleges across the UK have been awarded free places on the Headstart programme.

Headstart, run by EDT, offers students under the age of 18 who are interested in studying a degree in a STEM field, the opportunity to spend up to a week at one of the top universities in the UK.

Sannah Rathor, a student at Luton Sixth Form College, said:

“I applied to join the Headstart programme because it seems like a really good opportunity to experience university life and lectures and to explore different career options.

“I'm really looking forward to meeting new people who have similar aspirations to me, making friends and contacts and just experiencing university life. I think it will be a really rewarding and motivating experience, and it also looks great on my UCAS application!”

On the programme students will get an insight into what life at university is really like and understand what exciting career opportunities a degree course might lead to. They'll be able to connect with professionals in specific STEM industries, as well as other students from across the UK, whilst developing essential skills like problem-solving and team work.

Rosa Bell, a student at Holyrood RC High School in Edinburgh, said:

“I am keen to see what it is like to attend university and to learn from the experts in the fields of science and maths. I look forward to enhancing my understanding of STEM subjects through the Headstart programme and experiencing university life.”

“I hope to study a STEM based subject at university. Hopefully with the Headstart Programme, the choice of course will be an easier decision to make.”

Emily Butterfield, a student at St John Fisher High School, said:

“I hope the Headstart programme will help me make up my mind whether I want to go to university or not and decide what I would like to do in the future."

The full list of students who have been awarded places in 2016 are:

  • Claudio Patrik Sa Dias, The Petchey Academy, London
  • Emily Butterfield, St John Fisher High School, Dewsbury
  • Theo Feyerherm, Windsor Boys School, Windsor
  • Andres Navarrete Lopez, Lambeth College, London
  • Finlay Horsley, Cirencester College, Cirencester
  • Sannah Rathor, Luton Sixth Form College, Luton
  • Eleanor Navin Salford City College, Salford
  • Eduardo Medeiros-Pelegrinello, Paddington Academy, London
  • Aneliese Lily Hodgson, Stockton Sixth Form College, Stockton on Tees
  • Miles Pemberton, Tytherington High School, Macclesfield
  • Sadia Taj, Buckie High School, Moray, Scotland
  • Qays Khan, London Academy of Excellence, London 
  • Raffiah Ayandipo  London Academy of Excellence, London 
  • Rebecca Hepworth, Franklin College, Grimsby
  • Rosa Bell, Holyrood RC High School, Edinburgh, Scotland