Mentor of the Year Award nomination pack

Has your mentor inspired you? Have they gone out of their way to support you through the Career Ready programme? Do you want to celebrate your work together and say thank you to them for their help?

The Career Ready Mentor of the Year Award recognises the mentors in England, Wales and Northern Ireland who have gone above and beyond the requirements of the role to support their students throughout the Career Ready journey.


We know the mentoring relationship can be one of the most transformational elements of the programme and this award is your chance to say thank you.

Winners will be selected in each of the following nations and regions:

  • Northern Ireland
  • England:
  • The South of England: London, South East, Essex, Cambridge, Plymouth, Poole
  • The North of England and Wales: Midlands, North East, North West, Wales


The winners will be announced at the national Career Ready Awards Ceremony on 2 April 2019 in London and will receive a trophy.


To be eligible for this award mentors must be nominated by second year Career Ready students only who are part of our programmes.

Where a mentor is working with two students, both students should be included in the nomination.

Award criteria

The Mentor of the Year Award recognises the mentors who have gone above and beyond the requirements of the role to have a particularly impactful relationship with their student(s).

As part of the nomination form, you will be asked to provide a written statement (500 words maximum) explaining how you think your mentor has helped you.

This is your chance to tell us why your mentor is special and deserves to win a prize. Think about what made your mentoring relationship so important. What did they do that had the biggest impact? Tell us in your own words about your journey and how your mentor inspired you. Complete the sentence ‘Without my mentor…’

Nomination and judging process

To nominate your mentor, please complete the nomination form on line.

The deadline for nominations is Monday 18 February 2018. Any incomplete nominations or nominations received after that time will not be considered. All nominations will be acknowledged by email.

Nominations will be shortlisted at a regional level during February 2019. A winner will then be selected for each region during March 2019.

The decision of the judging panel will be final and there will be no appeal procedure.